How Can a Hit and Run Accident Victim Seek Justice for the Injuries He or She Suffered?
Hit and run accidents are a recurring issue for individuals living in the State of Florida. In Volusia County alone, 2,662 hit and run crashes were reported in 2018, many of which resulted in injuries, death, and property damage. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) reported that during this year, 86 hit and run accidents involved pedestrians and 34 crashes involved a bicyclist. Seven individuals died in 2018 as a result of a hit and run accident and 54 sustained serious bodily injuries.If you were involved in a hit and run accident in Daytona Beach, FL, Pappas and Russell, P.A. is here to provide you with the support and assistance you might be needing right now.
What steps should I take if I want to obtain justice for the hit and run accident I was involved in?
In the state of Florida, it is illegal for a driver to leave the scene of any accident. Failure to remain at the scene of an accident, whether it involved another driver, pedestrian, bicyclists, etc. could result in serious penalties being imposed. If you are seeking justice for the death of a loved one or for the injuries you suffered in a hit and run crash, there are a number of things our car accident law firm can do for you.
- If you haven’t yet identified the driver, we may be able to help you. While some drivers are identified shortly after fleeing the scene of an accident, others take more time to find. In an effort to help you seek justice against the driver who hit you, our skilled car accident attorneys can aid you in identifying who this person is.
- If the motorist was identified by law enforcement officers, we may be able to help push for the maximum penalties to be imposed if the State Attorney’s Office decides to prosecute. In the State of Florida, when a driver is guilty of engaging in a hit and run accident, he or she could be looking at facing the following penalties:
- When the accident resulted in property damage, the driver will be:
- Charged with a second misdemeanor.
- Serve up to 60 days in prison and pay a $500 fine.
- When the collision resulted in injuries:
- Charged with a second or third-degree felony.
- Revoked license for at least three years.
- Up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
- When the crash resulted in a fatality:
- Charged with a first-degree felony.
- Revoked license for at least three years.
- Mandatory minimum of four years in prison, up to 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
- Our qualified and experienced Daytona Beach, FL car accident lawyers can file a personal injury lawsuit on your behalf and anyone else who may have suffered as a result of the wreck. Although insurance companies are expected to help pay for things like medical expenses, lost wages, etc., after a collision, sometimes, they won’t always pay for all the damage the crash has caused. Why? Well, the truth is, there are many drivers who only purchase just enough coverage to satisfy the minimum insurance requirements the State of Florida wants you to have. But, if the accident you were involved in left you severely injured, disabled, or even disfigured, there is a good chance you are going to need ongoing medical care, therapy, and certain types of medical equipment, all of which may not be covered by the insurer.
So, what is a victim to do when faced with such circumstances? They have the option of filing a personal injury lawsuit.
When you choose to file a personal injury lawsuit against a driver who engaged in a hit and run in Daytona Beach, FL, there are a number of steps that must be taken, all of which our lawyers are familiar with. Not only will we assist you with gathering enough supporting evidence to prove the driver should be held liable for compensating you, but we will help you determine what is a fair amount to ask for. It is important not to ask for an amount the court might deem outlandish as you want your case to be taken seriously.
How do I find out what my hit and run accident case is worth?
If you are looking to recover compensation for the damages you suffered in a hit and run accident that occurred in Daytona Beach, FL, you will need to contact our office to schedule an initial consultation. One of our FL car accident lawyers can review the details of your accident, determine if you have grounds to sue, and explain what your legal rights are as a victim. To get connected with our office now, give us a call at 386-254-2941.
Pappas and Russell, P.A. is located at:
213 Silver Beach Avenue
Daytona Beach, FL 32118